Sun Salutation (post 002)

Right now I am trying to overcome my near-crippling urge to drink ANOTHER cup of coffee.  Instead I’m drinking a carrot orange turmeric etc juice called Suja Fuel.  The only reason I have a bottle of this juice is because it didn’t sell at the co-op and was relegated to the employee box.  Super score.  So good, but so expensive.

This morning I decided to go out into my front yard and do my sun salutations and a brief hip opening routine.  I think that, weather permitting, I’m going to make it a point to do this each morning.  Afterwards, my family and I had a brief sunbathing cuddle session, and then I practiced hula hooping.

I was never able to hula hoop as a child (and wanted to learn so bad but felt way too awkward in my own body), and I decided now, since my 5 year old daughter is just learning to, I might as well learn how too.  We can learn together.

We do live on a somewhat busy street (not terrible, but well trafficked) so I feel a little dorky but not too bad.  I’ll get over it.

My daughter, Claire, is going to church with the neighbors today.  She made friends with one of their daughters – the dad is a pastor at a local church.  I’m so curious to see what she gleans from this experience.  It’s so cool to think that in many ways, her own personal spiritual exploration and journey is really beginning.

Over the years, I’ve come to a place influenced by Hinduism, Buddhism, and Christ’s teachings.  Also, Star Wars really influenced my spiritual ideas as a child (yes, I know – nerd alert).  I was totally blown away by our study of the Yamas and the Niyamas (the Restraints and the Observances) at Yoga North.  I’ve really been trying to work those practices into our family’s life.  I want her to be aware that the Divine dwells within her.

Leave a comment